Baháʼí Holy Days

Bahá’ís commemorate 11 holy days each year. These occasions are usually observed with community gatherings in large or small settings, with programs befitting the significance of the day.

Bahá’í day begin at sunset and ends at sundown on the following day.

Naw-Rúz — The Bahá’í New Year

First Day of Ridván (meaning “Paradise” in Arabic) — The most important of the Bahá’í holy days. It is the day on which Bahá’u’lláh declared His mission as a Messenger of God.

Ninth Day of Ridván — The day on which Bahá’u’lláh’s family joined Him in the Garden of Ridván.

Twelfth Day of Ridván — The day on which Bahá’u’lláh and His family left the garden to travel to Constantinople.

Declaration of the Báb — The anniversary of the Báb’s announcement of His mission in 1844.

Ascension of Bahá’u’lláh — Marking the passing of Bahá’u’lláh in 1892

Martyrdom of the Báb — Who was executed in 1850

Birth of the Báb

Birth of Bahá’u’lláh

Day of the Covenant* — Commemorating Bahá’u’lláh’s appointment of His son, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, as the One to whom His followers should turn after His passing.

Ascension of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá* — Marking the passing of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá in 1921

Note: The Bahá’í holy days are set and move according to a solar calendar commencing with the Spring Equinox. However the holy days marking the birth of the Báb and Bahá’u’lláh are set and move according to a lunar calculation.

* Work not suspended; Bahá’ís are enjoined to suspend work on all but these holy days.

To learn more about the Bahai Calendar and the days these holy days fall on Gregorian calendar, please refer to